How to Delete A Twitter Account
Twitter is one of the largest and most popular social media networks on the Internet. The service allows users to share 140 characters in one Tweet. Those characters can include links to pictures, video or website content or simply a message about life. Hashtags (#) and the AT symbol (@) are used for keywords and user notifications, respectively. If you’ve had enough of those 140 characters or less and you simply want to delete your Twitter account you may find it a bit more difficult than you thought.
Deleting My Account: Step By Step
Twitter does not share instructions for how to delete an account, but they do offer instructions on how to deactivate a Twitter page at
. However, if you deactivate your account you have just 30 days to reactivate or Twitter will permanently delete all your information, followers, tweets and more.
- Visit the main page of Twitter and log in to your account.
- Click on the Account Settings button.
- At the bottom of the page you’ll find the Deactivate My Account button.
- Read through the information provided by Twitter about the deactivation of your account.
- Click on the Okay, Fine button to deactivate the account.
Once your account is deactivated, it will be removed from access by other Twitter users or viewers within 30 minutes to one hour. However, there are tweets that will likely lag behind and if any of your tweets have been indexed by a search engine, Twitter has no control over how long it takes those tweets to be deleted or deindexed.
Twitter publishes one of the easiest privacy policies found online. One simple statement explains how the company collects information. According to Twitter, information is collected to help site function and improve user interaction.
Specific information collected by Twitter includes some personal information like name, biography and location. Log data that reads and stores your computer IP address, links you share on Twitter and other sites associated with Twitter and browsing habits while on Twitter are collected and stored. Information on how to delete your Twitter account is provided in the policy located at
, but there is no mention if the information collected is deleted with your account.
Is There a Cancellation Fee?
No fee is assessed to use Twitter and no fee is charged to delete your Twitter account.
Can I Get Help From Twitter?
Help on all things Twitter is available on the Twitter Support page at
GD Star Rating