How To Cancel Flickr


Write A Review

How to Delete A Flickr Account

Flickr is a photo storage and sharing website owned and operated by Yahoo. You can join the site free and upload photos and movies, within the site guidelines. There is a Pro account offered by Flickr that costs about $24 a year. The Pro account allows for unlimited picture storage and uploads, along with other premium features. There is very little information on the features of the FREE account. Flickr users can choose to delete their account at any time with just a few clicks of the mouse.

Deleting My Account: Step By Step

Before you delete your Flickr account, make sure to download or save all pictures you have uploaded to the site if you do not have a copy of the files. After backing up all your files, proceed with your account cancellation.

When you are ready to delete your Flickr account simply visit

http://www.flickr.com/profile_delete.gne

. You will be asked to log in and immediately taken to a delete page with HUGE LETTERS that looks rather scary. That page simply reiterates that all photos will be deleted and all the fine print associated with deleting your account, but it does not tell the whole story.

You can restore your account within 90 days of deleting said account. Simply follow the procedure to restore your account at

http://www.flickr.com/help/with/accountdel/

. These procedures will only work if you chose to delete your Flickr account but later changed your mind. If your account was deleted by Flickr and you believe the deletion was an accident, visit

http://www.flickr.com/help/with/accountdel/send/

to send an email asking to restore the account.

Privacy Policy Fine Print

The privacy policy for Flickr is written by Yahoo, the owners of the service. Basically, the privacy policy located here

http://info.yahoo.com/privacy/us/yahoo/flickr/details.html

states that you have the option to choose different levels of sharing from private to public. The privacy policy does not state that Yahoo or Flickr collect any information, but we doubt that to be true. We assume the Flickr privacy policy is a simplified version used just for the fine details of Flickr. Users would also be served by the Yahoo privacy policy.

Is There A Cancellation Fee?

There is no cancellation fee and Flickr Pro accounts cannot be cancelled by Yahoo or Flickr.

Can I Get Help From Flickr?

There is a help section for Flickr at

http://www.flickr.com/help/

. You can also choose to browse through the FAQs at

http://www.flickr.com/help/faq/

. There is no contact page listed on the Flickr website, which means the user is limited to the website help unless they wish to send an email to customer service at

http://www.flickr.com/help/with/other/send/


GD Star Rating



loading…

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *