How To Cancel Evernote

How to Delete An Evernote Account

Evernote is a note taking application available for phone, computer and tablet devices. You can jot down notes, add pictures and generally keep track of everyday things with the application. There is a free and paid option and there are tons of associated accounts and applications like Skitch, Evernote Hello and Penultimate. Evernote is not the ideal program if you wish to delete your account as there is no means of deleting an account completely from the website. Instead, the company allows you to deactivate the account, but they give you very little information on what happens to your information after that.

Deleting My Account: Step By Step

When you want to delete your Evernote account you may be upset with the fact that you cannot delete the account fully. You can choose to deactivate your account, but the information you’ve provided to Evernote is kept on-file indefinitely, as far as we can tell.

  • Log in to your account on

    http://evernote.com/

    .
  • Go to the Settings link and choose Deactivate Account.
  • Follow to the next page and finalize the deletion.

A note provided by Evernote explains that your notes will not be deleted and you will not be able to create new notes. You also cannot create a new account with the old email address. However, you can choose to reinstate the account at any time by logging in using the old user name and password.

Privacy Policy Fine Print

Evernote’s privacy policy claims that information is collected for the main purpose of providing the user with a better online experience. For that reason, the company collects and stores the user name and password. Cookies are used throughout the site and stored on your personal computer. General information is also collected from your account usage that cannot be traced back to you to provide the Evernote company with information about how users navigate the site. Check out the complete privacy policy at

http://evernote.com/privacy/

.

Is There A Cancellation Fee?

No, there is no cancellation fee for the FREE Evernote account. There are multiple paid options, including the option for group discounts. The premium fee is $5 per month or $45 per year. If you pay for the entire year we do not believe the company will refund your money because your account is never fully deleted.

Can I Get Help From Evernote?

If you need assistance when you attempt to delete your Evernote account, contact the service department. You can find all available means of contact on the Contact Us page at

http://evernote.com/contact/

.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *